Breaking News
Home / Festivals / Importance of three Stages of Ramadan | Duas for three Ashras

Importance of three Stages of Ramadan | Duas for three Ashras

The month of Ramadan is considered to be the most important time of the year for Muslims. If we see this holy month historically, the Holy Quran was revealed in the month of Ramadan. The Holy Quran is the Holy Book for Muslims as a source of guidance for all humankind. Ramadan is the month of fasting, reflection, giving, devotion, and sacrifice.

Our beloved Prophet Muhammad (SAW) said: “It (Ramadan) is the month, whose beginning is mercy, its middle, forgiveness, and its end, release from the fire of hell.” These three stages of Ramadan are called Ashra. The word Ashra is an Arabic word which means “ten”. There are three Ashras of Ramadan with separate Duas for each. Below we will discuss the importance of each Ashra with Duas which are related to them.

Three Stages (Ashras) of Ramadan

There are three Ashras of Ramadan each one of it has separate Dua. The first stage (Ashra) of Ramadan starts from 1st and end on 10th of Ramadan, the second stage (Ashra) is from 11 to 20th Ramadan, while the third stage (Ashra) is from 21st to 30th Ramadan. First Ashra reflects Mercy of Allah so it is known to be Rehmah. Second Ashra reflects Forgiveness of Allah that’s why it is called as Maghfirah. Third Ashra of Ramadan reflects Safety from the Hell it is known as Nijat.

ramadan ashras and duas

The month of Ramadan is full of blessings, mercy, and forgiveness for sure. It’s the best opportunity for all the Muslims to collect more blessings of Allah and pray for their forgiveness and to be saved from the Hellfire.

First Ashra of Ramadan (Mercy)

First, ten days of Ramadan are the days of Mercy. Every Muslim must seek the mercy of Almighty Allah in these days. There is a special verse that usually recites Muslims in first ten days.  The Dua for the first Ashra is, Translation: “O! My Lord forgive and have Mercy and You are the Best of Merciful.” The objective of first Ashra is practicing being merciful to other fellow beings by giving charity; the act that Allah loves the most. Treat fellow Muslims well by controlling your temper.

Second Ashra of Ramadan (Forgiveness)

Second Ashra of Ramadan consists of the next ten days; it is the time of forgiveness. These are the days of forgiveness and a Muslim must seek forgiveness from Almighty Allah and repent for all his sins. There is a special verse that usually recites the Muslims in next ten days. The Dua for the second Ashra is, Translation: “I ask forgiveness of my sins from Allah who is my Lord and I turn towards Him.” It’s the time where the forgiveness of Almighty Allah is at its peak, and this is the best time for asking about forgiveness for all the sins from Almighty Allah. Always ask for forgiveness from Almighty Allah in all these days. Do make sure to not repeat the sins after you seek forgiveness.

Third Ashra of Ramadan (Nijat)

Third Ashra of Ramadan starts from 21st and ends 29th or 30th Ramadan according to the moon. Third Ashra is known as Safety from the Hell which means Nijat. At the end of Ramadan is about seeking in Allah Almighty from Hellfire. Every Muslim must pray for the safety of Hellfire. The Last Ashra is very important and superior. In this Ashra Lailatul Qadar also falls which is better than the nights of thousand months. Many Muslims also practice Aitkaf in and try to maximize their prayers. Allah Almighty stated in Holy Quran about Lailatul Qadar: “We sent it (Quran) down on a blessed Night. Verily, We are ever warning. Therein (in that Night) is decreed every matter of ordainment. Amran (i.e. a command or this Quran or His Decree of every matter) from Us. Verily, We are ever sending (the Messenger) (As) a Mercy from your Lord.” (Quran, 44: 3-6)

Dua for third Ashra of Ramadan is, Translation: “O Allah! Save me from the Hell – Fire.” Allah alone Knows Best and He is the Only Source of Strength. May Allah give us the strength to seek Allah’s mercy, forgiveness, and Nijat from Hellfire! Ameen

Check Also

Trudeau nominates first Muslim judge to Supreme Court

Canadian Prime Minister Justin Trudeau has nominated Mahmud Jamal as the next member of the …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *